Things we takes for granted, even tires, to put food on the table

I’ve been servicing center pivots the last two days.  While pumping up tires I got to thinking, how many tires are on our pivots? This is taking a long time.  Doing a little simple math I soon figured, around 260.  What? 260 tires on our pivots? That got me to thinking, how many tires does it take for us to farm?  Lets see, 20 on one semi, 18 on two others, three more trailers at 8 a piece, 8 on a couple of tractors, 6 on a couple more, 8 on the planter not counting the 48 that don’t hold air, 6 on combine plus I’m guessing well over a 100 more I don’t want to bore you with.  I’m going to say I could come up with a tire count over 500 very easy.  Bottom line, it’s the little things most, not even I always think about that bring food to the table.

About Randy Uhrmacher

Corn and Soybean farmer from South Central Nebraska with a desire to communicate with our customers. (anyone that eats) I am also a big fan of NASCAR and weekends at the lake in my free time.
This entry was posted in Food production. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things we takes for granted, even tires, to put food on the table

  1. Things that make you go… hmmm!??

  2. John Walter says:

    Interesting piece, Randy. Prompted me to post your blog on the home page “A-List,” as well as add a link to it in our Machinery Talk section: http://bit.ly/rbbrSc

    — John Walter, Agriculture.com

Leave a Reply

