Politics are like a bad marriage.

Over the last number of years I have been getting more and more irritated with our politicians.  It is the “I am always right and you are always wrong” or “you spent $ on that so I’m going to get this”  that is really getting under my skin.  This is the exact attitude that gets a marriage into BIG trouble.  What ever happened to listening and negotiating with the other side for a good middle of the road solution that benefits everyone?  I’m not talking about the lowering of taxes and spending more money solution that Washington came up with in December either.  That was a “how can I buy votes” bill the way I see it.  How can a country with such financial problems seriously think it is a good thing to keep adding to and putting off “real” solutions to “real” problems.  Don’t get me wrong, I will benefit greatly from this latest tax bill short term but long term I’m sure we will all pay greatly down the road.

So, how do we fix this?  I don’t have any great solutions anymore. Eight years ago I thought I knew how to fix it but the administration went in the opposite direction and now we have a big mess with tensions really high.  The new administration is only acting like the old and adding to the problem at an accelerating rate.  When tensions get this high in a marriage it almost always ends in divorce.  How do we file for divorce in congress?  Sadly we may find out if things don’t change soon.  Wisconsin may be the leader to watch how it is done.

The attitude is what will have to change now before any solutions can happen.  Politicians will have to establish the attitude of looking at the big picture,(marriage) working with the other side (partner) to relieve tensions and then work on the problems. (house mortgage is defaulting) We will never solve anything with the me, me, me attitude…marriage or politics.

 

About Randy Uhrmacher

Corn and Soybean farmer from South Central Nebraska with a desire to communicate with our customers. (anyone that eats) I am also a big fan of NASCAR and weekends at the lake in my free time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

